Robot by Tanya Ziniewicz
Technology
and Culture


Course Calendar
with Assigned Readings

~ Spring, 1999 ~

 
Monday, January 11: Introduction and Overview
Wednesday, January 13: Understanding Technology and Culture
Outline: Parts I - II 
Friday, January 15:  Understanding Technology and Culture
Outline: Parts III - V
  • Arnold Pacey, "Technology, Practice, and Culture," in Thompson, pp. 65 - 75
Monday, January 18:  Martin Luther King Day -- No Class
Wednesday, January 20: Philosophy and Technology: Debate Between Humanists and Technologists
Summary and Review Questions
Friday, January 22:   Philosophy and Technology: Philosophy of Technology
Review Questions
Monday, January 25:  Philosophy and Technology: Philosophy of Technology (continued)
Review Questions and Summary of Mitcham
Friday, January 29:  Philosophical Critics of Technology: The Question of Autonomous Technology
Review Questions
Monday, February 1:  Philosophical Critics of Technology: Heidegger's View of Technology
Notes on Beckman's Article with Questions for Discussion
Wednesday, February 3: Philosophical Critics of Technology:  Further Discussion.  Small Group Discussion of Students' Comments. Email discussion will be expected with reference to some of the topics (especially with reference to Ellul and Heidegger) addressed in the students' comments.
Monday, February 8:   Response to Critics of Technology
Review Questions
  • Samuel C. Florman, "In Praise of Technology," in Thompson, pp. 148 - 156
Wednesday, February 10: Response to Critics of Technology
Review Questions
Friday, February 12: Technology, Culture, and Society
Outline and Summary of Mesthene's Article
  • Emmanuel G. Mesthene, "The Role of Technology in Society," in Thompson, pp. 166 - 188
Last Day to Submit Project Topics
Monday, February 15: Technology and Human Behavior: Social Engineering
Review Questions
    Alvin M. Weinberg, "Can Technology Replace Social Engineering? in Thompson, pp. 41 - 48
Wednesday, February 17: Technology and the Environment
Questions for Discussion
  • Barbara Ward, "The Final Constraints," in Thompson, pp. 428 - 438
Complete Work on Project Bibliographies
Citing Cyberspace, by James D. Lester
Friday, February 19:  Technology and the Environment
Questions for Discussion (Matthews)
Monday, February 22:  Technology and Politics
Discussion Questions
  • Norman Balabanian, "Presumed Neutrality of Technology," in Thompson, pp. 249 - 264
Wednesday, February 24:  Technology and Politics
Discussion Questions
  • Norman Balabanian, "Presumed Neutrality of Technology," in Thompson, pp. 249 - 264
Friday, February 26:  Technology and Democracy Last Day to Submit Project Bibliographies
Monday, March 1:  Spring Break
Wednesday, March 3:  Spring Break
Friday, March 5:  Spring Break
Monday, March 8:  Technology, Work, and Leisure: The Alienation of Labor
Summary of Marx
Wednesday, March 10:  Technology, Work, and Leisure: The Alienation of Labor
Discussion Questions on Blauner
  • Robert Blauner, "Alienation and Freedom," pp. 331 - 349
Friday, March 12: Introduction to Web Page Authoring
 Wednesday, March 17:  Student Reports
Friday, March 19:  Student Reports
Monday, March 22:  Student Reports
Wednesday, March 24:  Student Reports
Friday, March 26:  Student Reports
Monday, March 29:  Student Reports
Wednesday, March 31:  Student Reports
Friday, April 2:  Easter Vacation
Monday, April 5:  Easter Vacation
Wednesday, April 7:  Student Reports
  • Myth and Technology
  • Technology and Women
    • Gender Benders ("collection of ways women have been able to respond to
      inappropriate comments with wit")
Friday, April 9:  Student Reports
Monday, April 12:  The Virtual Neighborhood
Review Questions
Wednesday, April 14:  Student Reports
Friday, April 16:  Student Reports
Monday, April 19:  Technology and Education
The Future Does Not Compute: Transcending the Machines in Our Midst, by Stephen L. Talbott
Review Questions
Wednesday, April 21:  Student Reports
Friday, April 23:  Student Reports
Monday, April 26: Student Reports
Wednesday, April 28:  Appropriate Technology
  • Thompson, pp 367 -370
  • E. F. Schumacher, "Buddhist Economics," in Thompson, pp. 392 - 398 
  • Samuel C. Florman, "Small is Dubious, " in Thompson, pp. 399 - 403
Friday, April 30: Exam Period Begins

Due Date for Print Version of Papers and Bibliographies

Return to Syllabus Page
Bibliography and Online Resources


Direct inquiries and comments to:

Copyright © 1999 Gordon L. Ziniewicz
This page last updated 2004

Please note: These philosophical commentaries, though still in process, are the intellectual property of Gordon L. Ziniewicz. They may be downloaded and freely distributed in electronic form only, provided no alterations are made to the original text. One print copy may be made for personal use, but further reproduction and distribution of printed copies are prohibited without the permission of the author.